You have the right to seek: Any questions related to your rights as

CIVIL PROTECTION ORDER a survivor of sexual assault can be answered
More information on the process here: by your rape crisis center confidential
http://www.courts.ca.gov/1260.htm advocate.
and/or an Advocates are trained in support services,
EMERGENCY PROTECTIVE ORDER local referrals, and law enforcement and other
To help keep you safe. government processes.

(ask a law enforcement officer)

........................................................................................... YOUR
RIGHTS

Your Rights as a Survivor

You have the right to request
FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE
For covering the costs arising from your
assault (through Victim Compensation

in California), and the process for You have the right to contact of Sexual Assault
applying c,on be fouzd here: your local rape crisis center, at:
http://victims.ca.gov/victims/
howtoapply.aspx
You have the right to have a For more information and support.
24-HOUR CONFIDENTIAL Rape crisis centers have confidential
SEXUAL ASSAULT COUNSELOR advocates that keep conversations private.
(victim advocate)
and at least Law Enforcement] Medical Provider[]
ONE OTHER PERSON can be contacted at:

OF YOUR CHOOSING
present during any exam
or investigative interview

CALCASA

CALIFORNIA COALITION
AGAINST SEXUAL ASSAULT




You are never required fo participate in
the criminal justice system or receive a
physical exam in order to keep your rights.

You get to choose whether you get an exam,
whether and how you report the assault, and
how much you participate in the process.

You have the right to contact
your local rape crisis center, at:

For more information and support. Rape
crisis centers have confidential advocates
that keep conversations private.

This card is an outline your rights and
resources and may not include all the
rights/options that may be available to you.
Under California law (Cal. Penal Code
§ 680.2) any law enforcement officer or
medical provider must provide you with a
card that clearly spells out your rights. If you
have further questions, please contact your
rape crisis center, medical provider, and/
or law enforcement officer.

You have the right to ask for the
status and results of the analysis of
all evidence related to your assault.

Ask the law enforcement officer
for a tracking number and steps to
get follow up information.

You have the right to know that
DNA and other types of evidence
can degrade/break down overtime
due to exposure to heat, water, and
other materials.

In general, DNA evidence on the body
last from 12 hours to 7 days.

You have the right to be informed of
the following:

= Whether or not the evidence is
analyzed within 18 months of
your assault.

= Whether or not a DNA profile of
your assailant was developed from
the evidence.

= Whether or not the DNA profile of
your assailant has been entered
into the law enforcement database.

= Whether or not the DNA profile
of your assailant matches a DNA
profile contained in the law
enforcement database.

If the evidence related to your assault
will be tested, it should be transported to
the lab and analyzed within

24 MONTHS

The evidence related to
your assault must be kept for

20 YEARS,
or for victims under age 18 at the
time of the offense, until your

40TH BIRTHDAY

You have the right to request in writing
and receive a

FREE COPY OF THE
INITIAL CRIME REPORT
related to your assault.

If your assailant is convicted and
required fo register as a sex offender,
you have the right to

REQUEST THEIR SEX OFFENDER
REGISTRY INFORMATION
from the prosecutor.
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