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Domestic Violence Bills Summary 

AB19:  Revises Provisions Regarding Orders for Protection 

Gives priority to service of a temporary order for protection by law 
enforcement. 
Extends expiration of temporary order for protection from 30 days to 45 days. 
Extends expiration of extended order of protection from 1 year to a maximum 
of 5 years. 
Proposed amendment removes 48-hour service requirement for service of 
eviction notices which has delayed the service of temporary orders for 
protection in the past. 
Increases criminal penalties for violations of extended orders for protection. 
Renames the Repository for Information Concerning Orders for Protection 
Against Domestic Violence to the Repository for Information Concerning 
Orders for Protection. 
Requires orders for protection for stalking, aggravated stalking, or 
harassment to be transmitted to the Repository in addition to orders 
regarding domestic violence. 
Information in the Repository will be available to law enforcement agencies 
in Nevada, the federal government, other states, and under tribal 
jurisdiction. 

AB41:  Revises Provisions Regarding Fictitious Address Program 
Participants 

There have been situations where “named entities” (defined as cable service 
providers, Internet service providers, state agencies, and local governments) 
release the home address of a fictitious address program participant and/or 
do not ensure appropriate safeguards of this information. 
Some fictitious address program participants have been concerned about 
purchasing a home out of fear that his or her home address will become part 
of the county assessor’s publicly available information. 
Revises provisions to ensure that named entities keep the home address, 
telephone number, and image confidential for fictitious address program 
participants, if fictitious address program participants notify the named 
entity to keep that information confidential. 
Provides a private cause of action to a fictitious address program participant 
if the named entity does not comply. 
Clarifies in the amendment that only the Division of Child and Family 
Services of the Department of Health and Human Services may release the 
home address or other information about a fictitious address participant and 
only upon the requirements outlined in NRS 217.464. 



AB60:  Revises Provisions Relating to Domestic Violence 

Nevada consistently leads the nation in domestic violence fatalities. 
A Nevada woman’s chances of being assaulted by her partner at home are 
higher than the risk a police officer faces of being assaulted on the job.  
An estimated 24.4% of Nevada women will experience stalking in their 
lifetime. 
Clarifies the crimes that may constitute domestic violence as defined in 
NRS 33.018. 
Requires the perpetrator of a crime constituting domestic violence to pay a 
$35 fee that goes into the Account for Programs Related to Domestic Violence 
created by NRS 228.460.   
Current law requires only perpetrators of battery constituting domestic 
violence to pay this $35 fee.  Expanding the scope of crimes wherein this fee 
must be paid, recognizes the myriad of ways that perpetrators abuse their 
victims and allows the Account to receive increased funding to pay for 
programs to help victims and reduce domestic violence in our State. 
Increases penalties for batteries and strangulation against victims who are 
pregnant if the perpetrator knew or should have known that the victim was 
pregnant. 
Allows murder in the first degree to be aggravated if the murder involved an 
act that constitutes domestic violence, the victim was pregnant, and the 
perpetrator knew or should have known that the victim was pregnant. 
Increases penalties for domestic violence convictions, in general. 
Increases penalties for domestic violence batteries that cause substantial 
bodily harm. 
With the amendment, clarifies that justices of the peace and municipal 
judges must sentence perpetrators of misdemeanor domestic violence 
convictions to a program for the treatment of persons who commit domestic 
violence, as outlined in NRS Chapter 200 for the underlying crime. 
Allow the Court to consider it an aggravating factor for the purpose of 
determining a perpetrator’s sentence if a battery constituting domestic 
violence was committed in the presence of a child under age 18. 
Updates penalties for stalking and clarifies the definition of stalking.  Adds a 
“reasonable person” to the standard for determining whether conduct 
constitutes stalking. 
Increases the penalty for stalking a victim under the age of 16. 
Makes minor changes to NRS Chapter 228, governing the Committee on 
Domestic Violence. 


