

# STATE OF NEVADA ADVISORY COUNCIL FOR PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS 100 North Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Michael K. Morton, Special Assistant Attorney General mkmorton@ag.nv.gov 775-687-2110

### **MEETING MINUTES**

Organization: Advisory Council for Prosecuting Attorneys

**Date and Time of Meeting:** August 29, 2023 • 2:30 p.m.

**Place of Meeting:** Virtual Meeting

**Link:** Click here to join the meeting (Microsoft Teams) **Meeting ID:** 237 293 188 717 **Passcode:** M4AXyV

**Call in (audio only):** 775-321-6111 **Conference ID:** 544 831 857#

## **Members Present**

Aaron D. Ford, Attorney General, Chair Chistopher Hicks, Washoe County District Attorney Steven Wolfson, Clark County District Attorney Mark Jackson, Douglas County District Attorney Wes Duncan, Sparks City Attorney Carly Helbert, Las Vegas Assistant City Attorney

# **Staff Present**

Michael K. Morton, Special Assistant Attorney General

# **Guests Present**

Teresa Benitez-Thompson, Chief of Staff, Office of the Attorney General

# 1. Call to Order and Roll Call.

• Jamie Prosser was absent.

# 2. **Public Comment.**

Public comment shall be limited to five (5) minutes per person. Action may not be taken on any matter brought up under this agenda item, until scheduled on the agenda of a future meeting for possible action.

No public comment was offered.

- 3. **Approval of minutes of July 25, 2023 meeting.** (*For possible action*) (Attachment 1 Minutes from July 25, 2023 Meeting).
  - Christopher Hicks moved to approve the minutes of the July 25, 2023 meeting. Steven Wolfson seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.
- 4. **Discussion on the nominations submitted for the William J. Raggio Award, and selection of a recipient of the 2023 award.** (*For possible action*) (Attachment 2 Submitted nomination(s) for the 2023 William J. Raggio Award)
  - Chair Ford confirmed with Executive Director Morton that one nomination for the William J. Raggio Award had been submitted ahead of this meeting. Chair Ford asked if there were any additional nominations. There were none.
  - Christopher Hicks moved to select Mark Jackson, Douglas County District Attorney, as the recipient of the 2023 William J. Raggio Award. Steven Wolfson seconded the motion. Discussion was had on DA Jackson's qualifications for the award. The motion passed unanimously, with Mark Jackson abstaining from the vote.
- 5. **Council Comments.** (For discussion only action may not be taken on any matter brought up under this agenda item, but matters may be scheduled on future agendas)
  - Mark Jackson requested that an agenda item be placed on the next agenda of the Advisory Council relating to the possible creation of a statewide domestic terrorism taskforce.
- 6. **Public Comment.**

Public comment shall be limited to five (5) minutes per person. Action may not be taken on any matter brought up under this agenda item, until scheduled on the agenda of a future meeting for possible action.

- No public comment was offered.
- 7. Adjournment.