Restoration of Civil Rights


RESTORATION OF CIVIL RIGHTS

The Office of the Attorney General started an initiative to provide information to guide formerly incarcerated persons through the process of restoring their civil rights, as granted by the Nevada Legislature.  

In 2019, Nevada lawmakers passed Assembly Bill 431, a new law that gives back the right to vote to Nevadans who were convicted of a crime but are not currently incarcerated. This law is effective July 1, 2019. The Office of the Attorney General started an initiative to communicate, demonstrate, and provide information to guide formerly incarcerated persons through the process of restoring their civil rights, as granted by the Nevada Legislature.

    YOUR RIGHT TO VOTE:

    ***IF YOU ARE NOT CURRENTLY INCARCERATED, YOUR RIGHT TO VOTE IS IMMEDIATELY RESTORED EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2019.***

     
    If you have been convicted of a crime and are not currently incarcerated, you may vote in Nevada if you are:
    1. a U.S. citizen
    2. will be 18 or older on or by the next election and
    3. have lived in Nevada 
      1. a. for at least 30 days in your county and 
      2. b. at least 10 days in your electoral district before the next election.  
       
    People who are at least 17 and meet the other criteria may preregister to vote.

      YOUR RIGHTS IF YOU WERE DISCHARGED FROM PROBATION IN NEVADA OR ELSEWHERE:

      • You are free from the terms and conditions of probation.
      • Your right to serve as a juror in a civil action is immediately restored.
      • Your right to hold public office is restored after four (4) years following the date of your discharge from probation.
      • You may apply to the court for the sealing of records relating to the conviction if you meet the requirements listed under NRS 179.245.
      • You need not disclose the conviction to an employer or prospective employer UNLESS it is required by a gaming establishment or the State or one of its agencies, departments, boards, commissions and political subdivisions, if required in an applicaation for employment, license or other permit.
      • You may file a written request with a court to restore your civil rights pursuant to this law if your official documentation of discharge from parole is lost, damaged, or destroyed.
      • Upon your discharge from parole, you must be given an official document restoring your above listed rights (and the date those rights are restored).

        YOUR RIGHTS IF YOU WERE DISCHARGED FROM PAROLE IN NEVADA OR ELSEWHERE:

        • Your right to serve as a juror in a civil action is immediately restored.
        • Your right to hold public office is restored after four (4) years following the date of your release from parole.
        • Your right to serve as a juror in a criminal action is restored after six (6) years following the date of your release from parole.
        • You may file a written request with a court to restore your civil rights pursuant to this law if your official documentation of discharge from parole is lost, damaged, or destroyed.
        • Upon your discharge from parole, you must be given an official document restoring your above listed rights (and the date those rights are restored).

          YOUR RIGHTS IF YOU WERE RELEASED FROM PRISON IN NEVADA OR ELSEWHERE:

          • Your right to serve as a juror in a civil action is immediately restored.
          • Your right to hold public office is restored after four (4) years following the date of your release from prison.
          • Your right to serve as a juror in a criminal action is restored after six (6) years following the date of your release from prison.
          • You may file a written request with a court to restore your civil rights pursuant to this law if your official documentation of your release from prison is lost, damaged, or destroyed.
          • Upon your release from prison, you must be given an official document restoring your above listed rights (and the date those rights are restored).

            Useful Links for Above

            Secretary of State Voter Information: https://www.nvsos.gov/sos/elections/voters

            • Voter Registration Form to print: https://www.nvsos.gov/SOSVoterRegForm/
            • As noted on these forms please do not send in a duplicate form, or your registration will be cancelled by the county clerk.
            • For assistance completing this form, please call (775) 684-5705

              DMV Voter Registration https://dmvnv.com/dlvote.htm