Attorney General Laxalt Expands Coalition of Attorneys General Offices Assisting Las Vegas Victims

October 12, 2017

Carson City, NV – Today, Nevada Attorney General Adam Paul Laxalt announced the arrival of additional out-of-state victim advocates to the joint-agency Family Assistance Center in Las Vegas. In the hours following the October 1st tragedy, AG Laxalt launched a coalition of attorneys general offices from around the country to help victims and the families of those affected by the tragedy.

    Last week, victims from around the country were assisted by advocates from attorneys general offices in Nevada, Arizona, Colorado and Florida. Earlier this week, at the request of the American Red Cross, AG Laxalt asked for continued assistance from those states and additional assistance from other attorneys generals offices, including California, Massachusetts, Virginia and Wisconsin. Currently, there are over 40 victim advocates from this coalition providing services at the Family Assistance Center.

      “I am deeply moved knowing that in times like this, the entire country stands with the city of Las Vegas and the State of Nevada,” said Laxalt. “My office has been working tirelessly to ensure victims receive needed assistance in the wake of this tragedy.”

        The Family Assistance Center is located in the South Hall of the Las Vegas Convention Center. It offers one-stop service for survivors, families of the deceased, concertgoers, and members of the Las Vegas community who were affected by the tragic shooting on October 1st. To date, more than 1,600 individuals have received assistance from a variety of provided services, including: crisis counseling, lodging assistance, travel and transportation assistance, property recovery, victim compensation, legal services, spiritual care, consulate services, onsite childcare, and administrative support for agencies, among others.

          In addition to the states listed above, other states who have also volunteered their time and resources include: Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Texas and Vermont.